Welcome to the


Location     Charles S. Snow District is located in the inner northern and north-eastern suburbs of Brisbane, out to a distance of about 10 kilometres from the centre of the city.  The District is part of Brisbane North Region, of Queensland Branch, Scouts Australia.

The Groups     The District is comprised of 9 Scout Groups:

Brisbane Central Scout Group     Chermside-Burul                  Nundah-Northgate Scout Group

Stafford Scout Group             Kedron Scout Group             Wavell Heights Scout Group

Wilston Scout Group              Gordon Park Scout Group               Kalinga Scout Group

The Sections   Young people are accepted into Scouting at any age from 6 years of age onwards, and may continue through the different sections until they are young adults, on their 26th birthday.

Joey Scouts (6 yrs to 8 yrs) meet at:

Cub Scouts (8 yrs to 11 yrs) meet at:

Scouts (11 yrs to 15 yrs) meet at:

Venturer Scouts (15 yrs to 18 yrs) meet at:

Rovers Scouts (18 yrs to 26th birthday) meet at:

Brisbane Gang Show

Youth members in the District participate in these stage shows

Interested in Leadership Opportunities in the District?

                              Wonargo Revue


District News and Future Events     Details of future events for all sections are on the District News page.

Charles S. Snow     The District is named after Charles Smethurst Snow, the first Chief Commissioner of Scouting in Queensland.  He was also one of the first four Scout Leaders in Queensland, raising a Patrol at St Mary's Church of England, Kangaroo Point, in August 1908.  He served as Chief Commissioner from 1909 to 1922 and from 1924 to 1943, as Branch Commissioner for Sea Scouts from 1921 to 1923, and as Branch Commissioner for Adult Leader Training from 1923 to 1952.  Charles S. Snow was called to Higher Service on 6 June 1953.  His service to Scouting is also remembered in the Charles Snow Training Centre, BP Park, Samford, and the Charles S. Snow Scout Environmental Training Centre, 'Eprapah', Victoria Point.

District Badge

The three symbols on the District's badge are:

  • The World Badge - the international symbol of Scouting.

  • The 'axe and log' symbol - originally the camp emblem of Gilwell Park, near London, where formal Wood Badge (Adult Leader) training commenced in 1919.  In time, the symbol came to be used for all Wood Badge training around the world.  Charles S. Snow was deeply involved with Wood Badge training in Queensland for over 30 years.  The inclusion of this symbol in the District's badge represents his enduring interest and efforts in this training.

  • The 'three spears, boomerang and 'N' ' symbol - the emblem of the former Brisbane North District.  Several Scout Groups in the District were originally in Brisbane North District, which was disbanded in a reorganisation of the northern metropolitan Districts.

Information about Scouting is available on the Scouts Australia, and the Scouts Australia, Queensland Branch, websites

If you would like more information about Scouting or the Charles S Snow District please contact:

Queensland Scout Centre

(07) 3870 7000

Non Metro Free Call - 1800 0 'SCOUT' (1800 072 688)

Charles S Snow District, Scouts Australia, Queensland Branch Inc.

Last updated 29 March 2007